Where’s the Love?

In the ear…… Oh Holy Night (Hillsong)

1 Corinthians 13:1  If I speak in tongues of men or of angels, but do not have LOVE, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbol.

As I sit here at the “O dark 30″…I guess so  conditioned to getting up for Christmas morning after many years of raising small children whose excitement for this morning is strong. But really who am I fooling, I cannot remember a time ever, even in the most saddest, violent times of my childhood did I not want to be up at the crack of dawn…so excited and full of joy. Yep, I guess I am that person!! Ok, I will not mention that I watched White Christmas everyday for a year and I still love it…never gets old.

But I digressed a bit…I am in deep thanksgiving with the Father for His truly remarkable gift that he has given us all those many years ago. This morning I opened up my “real paper” bible…just love that book, the feel of the pages etc… Anywho, it opened to 1 Corinthians 13:1 and as I read, and reread this chapter I am struck with how profound the verb/noun word LOVE is…that without it, we are just clanging cymbols…wind bags that makes noise. In this chapter it goes so far as to even describe what love is, what it does and what it does not do. It, (LOVE) is so powerful, that Christ said that it’s a new commandment that he left for us, the old commandments were for us to know how much we needed a savior, but this new one…LOVE….Love one another…which one another is not dependant on what political group, color, gender..etc., Oh and are we the judge on who deserves it? Not sure, but I think not. Should we love the ones that persecute us? Should we love without condition?…thinking YES, cause the Bible tells me so. Oh but don’t think that means that sin isn’t sin…But we aren’t the judges of that either, are we?…hummmm

But I am digressing … Love….yes, Love…patience, kindness, forbearing, isn’t that just better than bitterness, strife and division?

On this Christmas morning, as the chocolate birthday cake is cooling (and yes, I believe that Jesus loves chocolate), and the house is very still (my kids are grown), the spirit is strong…LOVE (period, simple, easy). God came as a man to go through all our pain, then to take on all our sins to defeat them, so we could always be, through Christ, able to be in the presence of God (like of the Universe) the most high..our Father!! Now that is LOVE! That is LOVE…..

Brethren, let us be a love example to the unsaved…the unbeliever. Let us not stir the pot, lets love and pray for the contents of the pot.

ME

About On the Vine

A child of the Most High, just on my journey with Him. Thoughts and observations from just me to you.
This entry was posted in a time to reap and a time to sow. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

