Oh Ye of Little Faith

Faith…Do you have it? Do you have enough? Is it possible to measure how much you have?

These are some of the questions that I have pondered often. In most of us who are believers, we are like…”yes, I have faith”, I know I have said this and thought these words myself many times. But as I sit here reading in Matthew the 9th chapter, where there were four instances of healing and restoration all from the people’s “faith” it struck me that the faith that these people possessed in this chapter was an action, they didn’t talk to others about it, (boasting) or whine about it (taking so long), or even ponder the thought that maybe “it” wouldn’t work. They just HAD IT!

For instance in Matthew 9:20, the woman with the issue of blood (for 12 years, oh my gosh), her faith how strong, for she said to herself, “if I could just touch the hem of his robe I will be made whole”..not I may be whole, or I hope I will be made whole, never did she said “what if it doesn’t work?”..she just knew she would be well, she did not question that fact. Her faith was a verb, an action word.

The Lord’s promises are true, ask and it will be given, seek and you will find, knock and know and the door will be open…I guess, no I am sure, that our faith needs to be one of sureness, and the unmovable truth, that it will be done, maybe not in our time…but it will be done.

I know what you are thinking, I have thought it too.. Well do I have enough faith? and why it seems my faith is like a rocking boat swaying too and fro with the size of the waves beneath it?  Are we using our faith as a verb or noun…is it an action work, always working and knowing that God is in control, or is a term, and thought, and well just some head knowledge or a principle that we have been taught is what a “good Christian” has? Yes these are just some things I ponder. I see now how my faith, in some cases,  has been a concept, or a thought…not a “for sure, all the time, and in any circumstance certainty” gift. I am very thankful that I can say, that I am growing in this journey with God, that the more intimate the relationship with my Father becomes, the more that my faith is a verb! Let it be a verb for you.

ME

 

 

About On the Vine

A child of the Most High, just on my journey with Him. Thoughts and observations from just me to you.
This entry was posted in a time to reap and a time to sow. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

