Silence

In the earbuds;  Children of God            Third Day

Mark 4:39

King James Version (KJV)

39 And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.

Remember as children, the saying…silence is golden? Ok, for you younger folks, there was this saying. Silence is golden a saying probably made up from some parents wanting a little peace and quiet after a long day or perhaps a school teacher needing a little discipline in her classroom….well whatever the case, this saying has started to be very important to me. As most of you will attest, silence was never my strong suit…I was never one for silence (that was not my anointing), my unsilence was usually just a cry (not literal) to be heard. However, my being heard usually resulted in some wrongs that were to be righted (I know not a word). Righting the wrongs of injustice of the world does come with a cost of some sort….usually my/our peace.

As I mentioned before, in the “ole” days…parents and teachers alike would strive for silence, which in turn would insure peace…awww peace, what parent wouldn’t want that for their child as well as for themselves? As, I have “tried” to become more mature in my walk with God on this journey, He has been instilling this concept of silence and peace, more and more lessons coming my way. Things that would have gotten me all unsettled (which was pretty much everything) have dwindled down at an alarming rate, much to my amazement. There are still a few topics that I will never be silent on..unless the Lord calls me to be.

Throughout the Bible, there are times written that silence was needed…no fighting, no explaining…just peace, which speaks louder than words. In Ecclesiastics 3:7 ….a time to be silent and a time to speak…,. While Jesus was alive there were many silent years… ones of obedience. He kept silent over the sins of others, “go and sin no more”, never chastising just forgiving and loving. Even as He (Christ) was being accused, He kept silent….He kept peace.

Not to say that there isn’t a time to be loud, but we can let God be God, He will let us know when to speak and when to be silent, when we seek Him/His will not ours. When we lose our peace, we lose out power and blessing..the same power that Christ died for us to have.

What has helped me in this area has been, in Mark 4:39 Peace be still…., when Christ called the wind to “be still”….this could/should be a lesson to us. When the winds of change and destruction are about us, Peace Be Still, and the winds will calm and there will be peace about us. I’m going to be in peace, because for me I want to be powerful in the kingdom, not just a big ole wind.

ME

About On the Vine

A child of the Most High, just on my journey with Him. Thoughts and observations from just me to you.
This entry was posted in a time to reap and a time to sow. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence

  1. Wonderful Word my sweet daughter..Thank you. You are loved…!!

Leave a Reply

