In the Still of the Night

Tenth Ave North                       By Your Side

Isaiah 40:26    Lift up your eyes on high And see who has created these stars, The One who leads forth their host by number, He calls them all by name; Because of the greatness of His might and the strength of His power, Not one of them is missing.  NAS

A few months back, there was to be a shower to hit our atmosphere…no not a shower in which would include soap and a towel….A meteor shower named Geminids, radiating from the constellation Gemini.  I felt the want and excitement to see this event for my self. There had been many other such events, different meteors, but unfortunately the weather had never cooperated. This time was different, the sky was to be clear, cold,  and crisp.  I was determined to experience this shower, recently I had been overcome with…lets just say…Me. I had begun to lose some of my joy and peace over me trying to take care of me.

The night arrived, or morning, lets say….Everyone in this house was asleep, there were no others that were takers of this wonderful experience…non that wanted to brave the elements and bend their necks upwards for long periods of time..(go figure).  As I bundled up in a blanket with slippers donning my freezing tootsies..I headed out, out in to the dark, quiet stillness of my backyard.  My head cocked upward, scanning the night sky because I had no idea in which direction said shower was to happen. As, I was scanning the heavens for..well I don’t even know what I was looking for, a quick wave of vertigo settled over me..”No, not today” I said out loud. Now, back to the scanning…..the heavens, so vast, the constellations were so bright and prominet…Taurus, was lit so brightly, there were stars that were 163 light years away and I was standing there in awe of this. (Thanks iPhone app, skysearch)…wow so close, and yet so far…all lit up by my/our Father…

Suddenly, out of my peripheral vision, I saw the brightest light shoot by, as I moved my eye toward that area…I witnessed the brightest light I have ever seen, it was shooting toward the ground. This light was not like the others, that were high up in the sky overhead….this  light was low and going straight to the ground, a silver light and again so bright…that the written word cannot give justice to the magnitude of  what was being seen. I was filled with a joy, a joy that I have not experienced  for quite some time. As I was thanking God (out loud), He was filling up the night sky with more shooting lights soaring overhead in numbers too great to keep track of.

As, I watched the sky a  stillness and calmness came over me…All of a sudden within me I felt small, not in an insignificant way…. just smaller, like there is something (duh) bigger than me, my circumstances were starting to seen very small…I was not the center of all. God’s creation of the World here and many light years away is greater and I/we are all apart of it….Not the other way around.

That night was an eye opener, a correction, but what a beautiful correction from my Father…I praise God that He loves us enough to show us where and what needs to be looked at and adjusted.  The next time you believe to be drowning in yourself…Go outside and take a look up and scan the night sky…You won’t seem so BIG.

ME

About On the Vine

A child of the Most High, just on my journey with Him. Thoughts and observations from just me to you.
This entry was posted in a time to reap and a time to sow. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the Still of the Night

  1. Thank you sweet girl…I often need to be reminded of the Greatness of Our FATHER….And just think we will live with HIM forever !! I am so ready to move upstairs !

Leave a Reply

