Jesus Loves Me This I Know….

In the earbuds;   Oh Great Love of God           David Crowder Band

As I remember many years ago, the sweet sunday school song we sang as children…Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so, little ones to whom He belongs, we are weak but He is strong…Yes Jesus loves me, Yes Jesus loves me, Yes Jesus loves me…the Bible tells me so.., I am filled with the childhood excitement that was once a very big part of me. unfortunately, over time that wonder, excitement and unwavering child like faith has been shelved….

The forgotten inner child, longs to get out, she desires to put on the radio..or just listen to those melodies that flow within her memory.. and dance…..That same innocent child, that trusted in everything that was a part of her early life, longs to find and pull out from deep within that trust. To believe in the unseen, to sing loud and not care what others say or think. To be able to have God lead that child out from the walls that have been built up over the years by “growing up”. The greatest thing, and this I know…is that this child is trusting and strong and aware that she needs to find her way free of those walls around her. To trust, is to hope… Everyday, the climb gets shorter, she can see over the top of the wall where once was too high for her to do..God is putting down His hand to “boost” her up and over.

How interesting (was a grown up word) is that to go full circle in the realization that to grow up is highly overrated…to loose ones childlike qualities of faith and trust is a very sad thing, to allow the troubles of this world, the responsibilities of a family and just the idea that everybody has to get serious and “grow up”, that to be a successful grown person one must forget those qualities which we started with.

So as I let God remind me of the child me, the one who grabs all of God, runs and jumps into the lap of the Father, is the person I am to be. Not a reasoning, logical and over thinking “grown up” that I have turned out to be.

As I keep walking forward on my path, A little spring in my step has to be done…singing the song of my childhood of how Jesus loves “me” because the Bible tells me so. I will cheer on the child within me to continue to climb over those walls and come out to play.

Christ died so that we could enjoy our life and live it abundantly.

ME

About On the Vine

A child of the Most High, just on my journey with Him. Thoughts and observations from just me to you.
This entry was posted in a time to reap and a time to sow. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jesus Loves Me This I Know….

  1. Maryanne says:

    Thank you for this (much needed) reminder. Full, carefree trust seems so childlike and long ago- but is necessary right now!

Leave a Reply

