One step…..

Earbud; Open Skies       DCB

2 Corinthians 5:17   Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things passed away; behold all things become new.

I believe there is a saying, (Ok, if you know me, quoting sayins is so not my forte) but here it goes; *clearing throat…..”A journey of a thousand miles, starts with a single step”, now if you know me, you also know that I rarely quote Chinese philosophers…but there it is.  It seems that, while taking steps as well as “standing still” and waiting on God can be done simultaneously. Think on that a moment…….

Here is an example; For many years I have been doing something, for not the right reasons. Don’t get me wrong, I wasnt doing anything..well “BAD”, I was just not listening, I was not allowing God to be God. I was running my own life all by myself. I told myself, my friends, and family that what I was doing was for the “good of the family”, and I actually made myself believe that, though every part of me was in a battle. But it was for the world’s view, people’s expectations and approval (who really didn’t care anyway) and my comfort level, which was not comfortable at all.  Man, talk about bondage….I believe I was walking….moving….on my journey, when actually I was walking, going nowhere. Like being on a treadmill, moving, sweating bullets and not going one place. So after many years, on the treadmill (dreadmill), God was showing me a glimpse of what HE had for me…like looking through a key hole, first a little light then a more fuller view of the life HE had for me. God was giving me a choice, like HE gives everyone. Take a step of faith, knowing that HE is leading/guiding my steps…I got off the treadmill, taking that real step took months, first put foot in front of the other, put it forward…then I would put it back (fear, reason)…then start again, for 30 days……. 43,829 minutes,…….. 2,629,743 seconds….omygoodness…,

Then it happened, the first real step, then the second, third and then a sort of walk…not a fast walk, more like a stroll. Holding on the HIM while I get my balance…WOW, movement!

One of the most painful steps so far, was opening up some containers of what contained the former life of this girl that I barely recognize. These containers, were packed quickly in pain, full to the brim with the hopes, dreams of this girl…waiting to be reopened for a triumph return, dreams of the past…dreams of this girls, others expectations that after a while were so ingrained in this girl, that she grew deaf of the voice of God, guiding her and the gifts HE had given to her. As the containers were opened, they contained lesson plans, grade books and tests for her students…..still as they were 6 years ago, they were opened to the LIGHT, then as quickly as they were packed….BOOM in the recycle bin. Freedom~!  Then another container was opened, a forgotten little container that had pictures of her children when they were small that once sat at the corner of her desk, a name plate “MRS JENSCHKE”, journals, pencils, pens, lotion and even teabags that were to be brewed with the relaxation of chamomile for a quiet time before teenagers invaded her peace. That made this girl cry, cry for the pain that this she felt at that time, time that was not wasted for she knew she grew….but the pain of wandering around that mountain.

1 Corinthians 13:11 When I was a child I talked as a child, I thought as a child, I reasoned as a child; now that I’ve become a man, I am done with childish ways and I have put them aside.

That girl is gone, in my journey of a thousand steps, I had to take a real step…just one, lift foot put it in front, laying it down (deep thought), then repeat.  Now that being said, let me be clear, our forward movement taking steps to bring us closer to the me/us that God created us to be is also at the same time, be telling us to “stand still, wait on HIM”. While I am actually moving forward, I am still waiting on God for his directions in my steps.

I am no longer a child, I am a woman of God, I am on HIS journey that he has created for me, just me. How cool is that? The creator of all heaven and earth…has a plan just for me. (Oh, he has one just for you too….are you willing to take the step for forward movement with HIM?)

My prayer for you is that you find your path (with HIM), that you let God be your compass for the journey.

ME

About On the Vine

A child of the Most High, just on my journey with Him. Thoughts and observations from just me to you.
This entry was posted in a time to reap and a time to sow and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

